PeoplesHub Workshop – Connect online as an individual

Raising Antiracist Kids: Challenges & Possibilities for White Parents

 

The world is rising up in protest around the brutal murders of Black people. Many white people are waking up to the injustices of Black, Brown and People Color. As white people begin or deepen their antiracism journey, it is often overwhelming. Some of us may be asking questions such as, What actions matter most right now? What are our roles as white parents in this moment and beyond? As parents and caregivers, we have much to learn around how to raise antiracist kids and foster an understanding of racial justice inside our family. 

 

The truth is, most white adults were taught as children to be colorblind. Without models, even white antiracist activists can struggle with how to talk with our children about racism in age appropriate ways.

 

By understanding how white children experience whiteness and how they perceive children of color, we can see how it’s never too early to start antiracism work. As we explore child-centered practices for understanding racism and racial justice, we will discover practical ways of engaging in antiracism as white families.

Trainer:

 

Rebekah Gienapp

Training Length and Type:

 

2 hours per session

 

Connect as an individual

Workshop Offered:

 

Thursday, July 23rd

 

From 4-6pm PDT/ 6-8pm CDT/ 7-9pm EDT​

 

OR

 

Thursday, August 6th

 

From 4-6pm PDT/ 6-8pm CDT/ 7-9pm EDT​

This training is ideal for:

 

Parents, caregivers, and teachers of white children ages 2 – 14.

Training Outcomes:

 

Participants will be able to:

  • Identify common misconceptions white children have about race.
  • Explain what racism and white privilege are in age appropriate ways to children.
  • Use tools & practices that prepare children to speak and act against racism.
  • Increase emotional and spiritual resilience for doing antiracism work in our family or in a teaching environment.
What do you do to prepare?

 

Please choose a location with a strong internet connection, where you are able to share and listen comfortably. You’ll need a laptop or desktop computer, with video and headphones.

Cost:

 

Free or by donation. Donations support us to offer more of these kinds of offerings. Our offerings are typically sliding scale from $20-$50.

Ready to sign up?

Trainer:

Rebekah Gienapp

Rebekah Gienapp is a writer, a religious educator for children, a mother, and a former economic justice organizer. She is the author of Raising Antiracist Kids: An age by age guide for parents of white children, and she writes about parenting from a social justice perspective at her website, The Barefoot Mommy. Rebekah is also the lead teacher and curriculum developer for Evergreen Peace Camp in Memphis, TN.