PeoplesHub Clinic – Connect online as an individual

Community Care Clinic for Disabled and Chronically Ill Movement Folks

 

Please join us in creating this community care peer support space.

 

There is a particular reality around what it means to be a social justice warrior and be disabled.

 

In this clinic space we will ask/answer questions such as: 

 

  • What does it mean in our activism, in our movements, in our work and in our communities to be all in? 
  • What sacrifices are inherent, what do we gain, what do we give up and what is expected of us? 
  • Am I worthy, do I have the ability to be in the movement, do I have a place here?

 

Unfortunately, support groups at home are often not enough. We need expanded possibilities around how we live and work as disabled and chronically ill people.

 

These clinics are ongoing meeting spaces. Please drop in and out as needed. Registering for the clinic space does not mean you must show up for every date. You are welcome to drop in and out of this space.

Trainer:

 

Elandria Williams (Peoples Hub)

Clinic Length and Type:

 

2 hours per session

 

Connect as an individual

Clinic Offered:

 

Tuesday, May 5th from 4-6pm PDT/ 6-8pm CDT/ 7-9pm EDT

 

Tuesday, May 18th from 12-2pm PDT/ 2-4pm CDT/ 3-5pm EDT

 

Tuesday, June 2nd from 4-6pm PDT/ 6-8pm CDT/ 7-9pm EDT

 

Tuesday, June 15th from 12-2pm PDT/ 2-4pm CDT/ 3-5pm EDT

 

Tuesday, June 30th from 4-6pm PDT/ 6-8pm CDT/ 7-9pm EDT

This clinic is ideal for:

 

Folks who identify as disabled and/or chronically ill and/or consider themselves to be movement or social justice warriors who believe in disability justice.

Clinic Outcomes:

 

The clinic space we are cultivating will be a supportive place where multiple realities can exist at the same time. We will meet around our truths: we can be active in the world and be honest about what must shift, when we must slow all the way down due to a flare up, a virus, or something else. 

 

This will be a co-created peer-supported space grounded in restoration and action.

 

These clinics are ongoing meeting spaces. Please drop in and out as needed. Registering for the clinic space does not mean you must show up for every date. You are welcome to drop in and out of this space.

What do you do to prepare?

 

Please choose a location with a strong internet connection, where you are able to speak and listen comfortably. You’ll need a laptop or desktop computer, and headphones.

Cost:

 

Free, or pay what you can. All donations help support our trainers and further our mission.

Ready to sign up?

Trainer:

Elandria Williams

Executive Director of PeoplesHub, Elandria also provides development support to cooperatives, mostly in the Southern United States, and is a co-editor of Beautiful Solutions, a project that is gathering some of the most promising and contagious stories, solutions, strategies and big questions for building a more just, democratic, and resilient world. For the last eleven years Elandria worked at the Highlander Research and Education Center, first as the youth / intergenerational programs director and then helping co-coordinate Economics and Governance programs such as the Mapping Our Futures Curriculum and the Southern Grassroots Economies Project.