PeoplesHub Workshop – Connect online as an individual

But I Should Be Able To – Healing Internalized Ableism

 

ASL Interpretation and CART will be provided

Internalized ableism is an obstacle we all face, but for disabled people, it can be both deadly and a source of deep shame.

 

Join a community of disabled people and long-time disabled organizers for a deeper look at the ways internalized ableism operates in our daily lives and in our organizing.

 

Together we’ll identify new strategies to address internalized ableism for when we’re together and when we’re apart.

This workshop is part of a larger initiative by PeoplesHub and other partners to center the wisdom of chronically ill and disabled communities.

 

Please join us for the workshop alone or sign up for the whole series, which includes a circle, workshops, strategy clinics, and care clinics.

 

 

Trainer:

 

Elliott Fukui (Mad Queer Organizing and Fireweed Collective)

Length and Type:

 

2 hours per session

 

Connect as an individual

Offered:

 

Thursday, October 8th from 5-7pm PDT/ 7-9pm CDT/ 8-10pm EDT

 

OR

 

Thursday, October 15th from 4-6pm PDT/ 6-8pm CDT/ 7-9pm EDT

This training is ideal for:

 

  • Disabled people
  • Disabled organizers

Outcomes:

 

Participants will leave with concrete tools for reflection and action to address internalized ableism.

What do you do to prepare?

 

Please attend or watch the recording of the Ableism and Our Movements circle to prepare.

 

Please choose a location with a strong internet connection, where you are able to share and listen comfortably. You’ll need a laptop or desktop computer, with video and headphones.

Cost:

 

Choose what to pay, starting at $20. The true cost of this workshop is $50/person, which allows us to continue offering programs like this one and pay trainers a fair wage for their time and expertise. Like you, our trainers work hard for change in their communities and have often developed the knowledge, skill and gifts that they are offering through many unpaid hours — let’s support them to be sustainable in their work and craft!

Ready to sign up?

Trainer:

Elliott Fukui

Elliott Fukui is a trainer, organizer and facilitator with nearly two decades of experience who is based in Ohlone Territory/Oakland. He is currently on the education team at the Fireweed Collective, and has organized locally and nationally primarily with Queer, Trans and Non-Binary Black, Indigenous, and People of Color through Transgender Law Center, Audre Lorde Project, and many others. You can check out some of his work on www.madqueer.org