PeoplesHub Workshop – Connect online as an individual

An Introduction to Restorative Justice: Bringing Back the Human

 

Restorative justice requires us to recognize each other’s humanity and to “restore people to a state of being honored as human” (Dorothy Vaandering). We are restorative, we don’t do restorative, it is a way of being that is reflected not just in the political but also the personal. We are restorative in language, in thought and in actions. We are restorative with our children, our partners, and our neighbors. Through our everyday restorative practices, we create the conditions for a world without prisons and police. 

 

This experimental workshop will provide restorative tools and practices to help us cultivate strong communities, making prisons and police obsolete.

Trainer:

 

Bilphena Yahwon

Training Length and Type:

 

2 hours

 

Connect as an individual

Workshop Offered:

 

Part One: Wednesday, February 10 from 12-2pm PST/ 2-4pm CST/ 3-5pm EST

Part Two: Wednesday, February 17 from 2-4pm PST/ 4-6pm CST/ 5-7pm EST

 

OR 

 

Part One: Friday, March 12 from 3-5pm PST/ 5-7pm CST/ 6-8pm EST

Part Two: Friday, March 19 from 1-3pm PDT/ 3-5pm CDT/ 4-6pm EDT

This training is ideal for:

 

Folks interested in transformative and restorative justice.

Training Outcomes:

 

Participants will leave with:

  • A deeper understanding of the proactive and reactive practices tools available on the restorative practices continuum. 
  • An increased understanding of the differences between the punitive and restorative paradigm. 
  • Learn everyday restorative approaches to deepen connections in community.

What do you do to prepare?

 

Please choose a location with a strong internet connection, where you are able to share and listen comfortably. You’ll need a laptop or desktop computer, with video and headphones.

 

Also, consider reading A Jailbreak of the Imagination: Seeing Prisons for What They Are and Demanding Transformation by Mariame Kaba & Kelly Hayes.

Access:

 

Access requests can be made during registration or by emailing Dustin Gibson at dustin@peopleshub.org, including interpreters and captioners.

Cost:

 

Choose what to pay, starting at $40. The true cost of this workshop is $100/person, which allows us to continue offering programs like this one and pay trainers a fair wage for their time and expertise. Like you, our trainers work hard for change in their communities and have often developed the knowledge, skill and gifts that they are offering through many unpaid hours — let’s support them to be sustainable in their work and craft!

Ready to sign up?

Dustin Gibson

Trainer:

Bilphena Yahwon

Bilphena Yahwon is a Baltimore-based writer, abolitionist and restorative practices practitioner born in Liberia, West Africa. She is the curator of the online library, The Womanist Reader, which is dedicated to archiving free texts from Black women writers across the diaspora. Bilphena’s work uses a womanist approach and centers the needs and well-being of Black women and Black children.